Paper Shredder and Fax Machine

June 28, 2008 at 2:34 pm Leave a comment

My boss has asked me to start acting my title in the office. By that, he meant I should stop wasting my time at the paper shredder and fax machine. He “caught” me recycling some paper at the shredder a few days ago. Today, I wanted to fax a proposal to my prospect but the fax machine was stuck. Hence I had to unstuck the paper which was located right in front of my boss’ office. That was how I received my second reprimand.

What does acting my title mean? I consider myself as middle management in my department. So does this mean I should get someone lower than me to do all the mundane work? Does this mean I need to suck up to my bosses more often? All sounds very foreign to me. I guess they don’t teach such things in uni.

I remember I learned something from some company training programme where it was all about work when I first started work which is kind of true. As you climb the corporate ladder, you manage lesser work and more of people. Does this mean I need to spend more time with my peers and subordinates? Once again, I hit a dead end since I am still managing a lot of work. You can’t really inspire and motivate anyone when you are struggling to stay ahead of your workload.

One thing for sure. I better shred the paper only when my bosses are not around, ignore the fax machine when it is stuck and stop reloading the water dispenser even though it is empty.

Entry filed under: Misc.

Family – Yasmin Ahmad I am tired

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Categories

Feeds


