Le Tour de Langkawi 2008

January 26, 2008 at 3:10 pm Leave a comment

There will be a new race route for the 13th edition of Le Tour de Langkawi this year. The usual 10 stages race will be reduced to 9 in order to reduce operation cost. The most significant changes are the Genting Highlands climb has been brought forward to Stage 2 and the removal of KL city criterium. The organizing committee is seriously changing the race layout by altering the two major highlights of Le Tour de Langkawi.

The organizing committee has drew a lot of criticisms ever since they announced the “new” race layout. The committee has restored order by re-introducing the KL city criterium and pushing the Genting climb back to the later stages of the race.

Stages Original Latest
Stage 1 Alor Setar to Kulim Alor Setar to Kepala Batas
Stage 2 Tapah to Genting Highlands Butterworth to Sitiawan
Stage 3 Lanchang to Cukai Sitiawan to Banting
Stage 4 Kuantan to Kuala Rompin Port Dickson to Batu Pahat
Stage 5 Kuala Rompin to Bandar Penawar Johor Bahru to Bandar Penawar
Stage 6 Bandar Penawar to Johor Bahru Bandar Penawar to Kuala Rompin
Stage 7 Johor Baru to Batu Pahat Kuala Rompin to Kuantan
Stage 8 Malacca to Seremban Temerloh to Fraser’s Hill
Stage 9 Seremban to Kuala Lumpur KL Criterium

Just when you thought the race is good to go, Resorts World has informed the organizing committee that they would not be able to host Stage 8 at Genting Highlands because of Chinese New Year. Resorts World is expecting more than 150,000 holiday makers to head to Genting Highlands to celebrate the Lunar New Year. As a result, Resorts World is unable to close the roads leading to the peak. As a result, Stage 8 would end at Fraser’s Hill now.

I have one question though. Is Le Tour de Langkawi still considered a HC class race since it has lost its HC class climb in the form of Genting Highlands?

Hopefully, there are no more changes to this year race.


Entry filed under: Sports.

Bangun Pagi Gosok Gigi Chinese New Year 2008

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Twitter Updates



%d bloggers like this: