Two down, 3 more weeks to go

December 19, 2007 at 2:51 pm Leave a comment

I have discovered something new recently. Unfortunately, I am not at the liberty to share the details but it took me by surprise. I was taken aback by this event and I am still sore about it. I will stop here since I do not want to leave things hanging in mid-air.

We took the family to Langkawi for our annual pilgrimage this year. We stayed at the Holiday Villa hotel which was quite old. We booked our hotel via www.cuti.com.my. The only disappointing thing was extra bed which we requested turned out to be a sofa bed.Oh yes, the room also leaked during our first night. Nothing major like the current flood in Johor and Pahang. The beach is definitely cleaner than the one in Penang and the breakfast was also okay.

We have rented a car this year after learning a hard lesson during our trip to Penang two years ago. Travel was easier and the kids could sleep in the rented car when necessary. Booking was done via www.kasina.com.my. Kasina actually gave me a 20% discount via online booking. The customer service was good and there was even a Kasina staff waiting for me upon my arrival in Langkawi.

The most difficult part on any of our trips is food. We have to look for Chinese food since the kids are still young. There was no way they were going to eat Ramly burger. Breakfast was taken care of at the hotel. So we had to worry about lunch and dinner. We ate at Chiew Seafood Restaurant and Fat Mum Seafood Restaurant. By the way, all Chinese restaurants are “seafood” restaurants in Langkawi. We also found a coffee shop in Kuah.

We visited the Underwater World Langkawi, Crocodile Farm, Langkawi Cable Car and Mardi Agro Technology Park. We wanted to cover Langkawi Wildlife Park but we ran out of time. Langkawi has an international status airport although you have to disembark the plane from the tarmac and walk into the arrival hall. I thought this was very unbecoming for an international airport. Maybe bigger aircrafts could land in Langkawi. That is how it achieved its international status. On another aspect, the authority may want to create a traditional impression of Langkawi. I am sure the tourists may not complain. After all, everyone was taking pictures on the tarmac itself.

Overall, it was a better holiday compared to Singapore and Penang. I guess it gets easier when the kids get older.

Anyway, two weeks down and 3 more weeks to go before Rose comes back from Manila. My mother in law is taking care of them this week. It will be my turn next week. Should I shudder? Wish me luck.

Entry filed under: Family.

Maid-ness in PJ Somewhat smooth week

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Categories

Feeds


